Yuvraj Singh dropped for limited-overs series; Ashwin, Jadeja rested

Yuvraj Singh dropped for limited-overs series; Ashwin, Jadeja rested

Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina were overlooked by the selectors, while Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant also missed the cut.

Earlier, it was believed that there will be a quiet number of changes in the Indian squad, with likes of Virat Kohli, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja likely to a get well-deserved break. The Mumbai batsman has been named as the vice-captain of the squad.

It will also be interesting to note the selector's stand on Ajinkya Rahane.

The selectors chose to rest four frontline bowlers - Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja.

Former India skipper M.S. Dhoni was among a bunch of cricketers who underwent fitness tests at the National Cricket Academy here ahead of the limited-over series against Sri Lanka.

An uncapped Shardul Thakur has also been drafted into the side, who will hope to make his ODI debut in the upcoming series.

Another significant announcement was the appointment of Rohit Sharma as the vice-captain of the team.

RohitSharma, who was rested for the West Indies series, returns and will be the vice-captain of the side.

Openers KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma and fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah are back in the Indian ODI and T20I squad that will take on take on Sri Lanka in a five-match ODI series that begins on August 20 at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Dambulla. While the ODI series conclude on September 3, the one-off T2) will be played on September 6.