BJP sweeps Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation polls

BJP sweeps Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation polls

The BJP has now registered a clear majority and is on its way to lead the civic body that is currently headed by a Sena-BJP combine. Two seats have been secured by independent candidates.

Out of the 95 seats that were up for grabs, the BJP 61, comprehensively trouncing the Shiv Sena and the Opposition Congress and NCP. The voting was held for 94 seats, out of 95. Similarly, Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVS), which had won three seats in the last election, failed to open their account.

In 2012, the BJP became the single largest party in the civic body by winning 29 seats. One unopposed seat, has already been won by Congress after the returning officer rejected the nominations of BJP and Sena candidates due to caste certificate issues.

Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis took to Twitter to congratulate the party.

The voters' turnout, however, was very low with just 47 percent voters exercising their franchise in the Mira-Bhayander Municipal Corporation election held on Sunday. The Sena won 14 and Congress 5. He also attributed the success in the satellite town to team work.The victory in Mira-Bhayander has established the ruling BJP as a leading political force in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR) encompassing nine civic bodies including Mumbai, Kalyan-Dombivali, Panvel, Ulhasnagar, Navi Mumbai, Bhiwandi, Thane and Vasai-Virar. In the outgoing general body in the municipality, the NCP had 27 corporators.

It was a landslide victory for the BJP in an election that was touted to be a four-way fight.

The BJP has been successful in winning urban and semi-urban pockets since 2014.

BJP's Mumbai unit chief Ashish Shelar was more direct in his attack on the Shiv Sena, saying that poll after poll in the state are a demonstration of the BJP's rise and they showed the real power of "those who have illusions about their strength". Shiv Sena that was also claiming to win the MBMC could manage only 22 seats.