Nanded Municipal Corporation Election Results 2017: Congress takes lead

Nanded Municipal Corporation Election Results 2017: Congress takes lead

In the last municipal election in Nanded, the Congress had secured 41 of the 81 seats with the Shiv Sena a distant second with 14 seats. The by-poll in Ward no 116 of the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) has been necessitated due to the death of Congress corporator Pramila Patil, who passed away due to a heart attack on April 25. The counting of votes for the chosen ward, Ward Number 2, will be done twice, once through electronic voting machines (EVMs) and the next time through the VVPATs.

The State Election Commission of Maharashtra had placed order for 400 VVPAT machines from the Electronic Corporation of India (ECI), but the company could not provide so many machines in time, so it was made a decision to use available 70 machines on pilot basis at a single ward in Nanded polls.

BJP's Jagruti Patil defeated Shiv Sena's Meenakshi Patil in Bhandup, while Himali Kamble defeated Nationalist Congress Party's Dhananjay Gaikwad by margin of 4483 votes. Trends and results are expected to be available in few hours time.

According to latest reports, Congress is ahead in 28 seats out of 81 seats.

Results for 54 seats, out of the total 81, have been declared so far.

The Congress not only retained the civic body but also hugely improved its tally compared to 2012 when it secured 41 seats, proving a major morale-booster for the party reeling under a saffron onslaught.

There are 81 seats across 20 civic wards of the civic body.

Nanded is Maharashtra Congress president Ashok Chavan's home turf and it saw an aggressive campaign, with BJP making all efforts to wrest control of the civic body.

The BJP's candidate Jagruti Patel beat her closest competitor, the Shiv Sena's Minakshi Patil, by over 4000 votes on Wednesday.

The 81-member civic body is now controlled by the Congress. Sharad Pawar's NCP won 10 seats, AIMIM won 11, one seat was won by an independent candidate and two more by other parties.