JD (U) rebels Sharad Yadav, Ali Anwar disqualified from Rajya Sabha

JD (U) rebels Sharad Yadav, Ali Anwar disqualified from Rajya Sabha

Rebel JD (U) MPs Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar were disqualified from the Rajya Sabha on Monday night.

Yechury also questioned the "mind-boggling" speed with which the decision was taken.

On Tuesday, before he left for Gujarat to campaign for his faction of the JD (U), which is fighting the upcoming Assembly polls against the BJP on seven of the state's 182 seats under the banner of Bharatiya Rashtriya Tribal Party, Sharad Yadav asserted that he would "continue to fight to save democracy".

Following the complaints from the party Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu who is also the ex-officio chairperson of the Upper House Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar disqualified from the Rajya Sabha. "He did that to me when he approached me for an alliance after biting the dust in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls and later, ditched us to join hands with the BJP", he told reporters here.

Citing paragraph 2 (1)(a) of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India, Naidu said that Yadav and Anwar 'have thus ceased to be members of the Rajya Sabha with immediate effect'. The action comes after Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's faction demanded the two leaders' disqualification.

JD (U) leaders in Patna said that the chairman agreed that the two leaders had "voluntarily given up their membership by defying party's directives and attended a political event organised by opposition parties in Bihar".

Yadav claimed that the JDU has always been functioning in an undemocratic fashion and his exclusion from the Rajya Sabha is because he questioned the party's wrong working pattern. Patil said the decision is an attack on democracy and the Constitution, as well as a reflection of Kumar's hypocritical policy and Prime Minister Narendra Modi's dictatorship.