Naxals kill 9 CRPF jawans in EID blasts at Sukma in Chhattisgarh

Naxals kill 9 CRPF jawans in EID blasts at Sukma in Chhattisgarh

The rebels used a lot of explosives to blow up the vehicle, a state police official said.

At around 12.30 pm, the Maoists emerged again, to blow up a vehicle carrying men from CRPF's 212 battalion. The decline in these incidents is because of "attrition of various level cadres of Maoists and the other to the possibility of Maoists deliberately lying low", according to a senior official of the union home ministry.

As many as 2,270 encounters with police and 1,356 attacks on police, including with landmines, were reported over the last nine years. From the injured, 3 are reportedly in critical condition.

Meanwhile confirming the attack, Special DG of Anti Naxal Operations in Chhattisgarh's Sukma, DM Awasthi said that the attack took place when the patrolling party was on its way to Palodi. I pray for the speedy recovery of the injured jawans.

The injured personnel are being evacuated by a helicopter to Raipur, the CRPF official told IANS.

Extra force has been deployed at the spot.

"The Maoist attack in Sukma, Chhattisgarh in which 9 CRPF jawans lost their lives is tragic".

Sukma, considered one of the worst insurgency-hit regions of the state, has witnessed several dreaded attacks on security forces in the past, particularly in summer season during which rebels carry out an annual tactical counter offensive campaign.

ASI RKS Tomar, constable Ajay Kumar Yadav, constable Manoranjan Lanka, constable Jitendra Singh, constable Shobhit Sharma, constable Manoj Singh, constable Dharmendra Singh, constable Chandra HS and head constable Lakshman lost their lives in the blast.

Soon after the incident, reinforcement was rushed to the spot, he said, adding that further details were awaited.

Previous year in April, 25 paramilitary personnel were killed in a deadly Naxalite attack in the district. Chhattisgarh chief minister Raman Singh said that he was "overwhelmed with grief" with the loss of the nine officials.