Sport

Former world number one Pliskova smashes hole in umpire's chair

Former world number one Pliskova smashes hole in umpire's chair

Former world No. 1 Karolina Pliskova blew up at the Italian Open, smashing her racket several times on the umpire chair in frustration after a blown call ultimately decided her fate in the second round.

And with no hawkeye technology in place to give a definitive decision, the call stood against Pliskova, who ended up losing her serve and Sakkari went on to win the set, and the match, 7-5.

Instead of shaking hands with Mrozinska, Pliskova left a hole in the umpire chair-a move that will very likely result in a fine though none has been announced yet.

"The worst i have ever seen @wta and i hope this lady Marta Mrozinska will never ever judge any match of me or Karolina again #blacklistforever".

Karolina Pliskova left a sizeable hole in the umpire's chair
YoutubeKarolina Pliskova left a sizeable hole in the umpire's chair

After a lengthy delay that saw Pliskova call for the tournament supervisor, Sakkari converted the subsequent break point before serving out the match. "It's tough to make winners on this court, for me, but it's good when I can build the point".

In more sedate scenes on Wednesday, Halep and Wozniacki recorded respective straight-sets victories over Naomi Osaka and Alison Van Uytvanck. Gavrilova recovered from 4-0 down in the third set to beat world number three Muguruza 5-7, 6-2 7-6 (6) in just over three hours.

It was the first time Sakkari had beaten a top five player in her career.