Hi-Tech

Instagram adds privacy feature: Sharing Stories to your close friends

Instagram adds privacy feature: Sharing Stories to your close friends

YouTube rolls out YouTube Stories for creators with 10,000 or more subscribers. To that end, Instagram is rolling out a new "Close Friends" feature to promote sharing among a smaller and presumably tighter-knit circle of users.

Let us know if your news organisation decides to use the "Close Friends" list on Instagram Stories - we would love to know how it is helping you connect with audiences.

The YouTube rendition, however, which was first announced back in 2017, is not available for everybody. Brand managers with access to the feature could use it to share additional content with subscribers, such as behind-the-scenes access to content processes including photo shoots or extra interviews with experts. YouTube Stories last for seven days on the mobile app, and they will appear for both subscribers and non-subscribers.




Instagram copied the Stories feature from Snapchat years ago and now has more than 400 million people using the feature each day.

Once that's done, you can create a story just for those people. "With Close Friends, you have the flexibility to share more personal moments with a smaller group that you choose", the company wrote in a blog post. There you can create your own close friend's list and to get added there no one can send you request so that you can be comfortable. It's also important to note that one way to tell if someone has added you to their list is you'll see a green badge when you're looking at their Story.

Those on your "Close Friends" list will see a green ring around your Story in the tray at the top of the feed - a visual signal that a close friend has shared something more privately with you standing out from the standard pink-purple gradient rings. Instagram uses object recognition technology to generate a description of photos for screen readers so that users are able to hear a list of items that photos may contain as they browse the app.